Counting Calories

I’m not a fan of counting calories. I think it gives a false picture of What Energy we eat.
On the other hand, it can be a guideline to see roughly How Much we eat, if we eat Too Little or Too Much. 

301_5-calorie-counting-myths_flash


Before my summer vacation, I counted some calories for a few days. I looked in to what I actually ate! And it turned out…I didn’t eat enough. I ate under 1500 calories a day. Still Paleo, but not enough food, very little protein, and not enough fat.
I thought this was mainly because I didn’t eat breakfast most of the days, so I started to eat breakfast. Still, I didn’t eat enough.

During the summer vacation, I ate less than ideal the first 2 weeks, and then got back on track again the last week. I didn’t write down my intake or calculate calories or carbs. I gained a lot of water weight during my vacation (5 kilos in total) and lost 3 of those kilos in the week before starting work again.

As I got back to work, I started to write down what I eat so that I could keep an eye on my intake.
Thing is, I think my body is in starvation mode and keep all the energy I give it. This can also be because I was rather sick this last spring and almost couldn’t keep anything I ate. So my experiment now is to eat around 2000-2500 kcals a day (depending on if I lift weights or not) and see if my body will start to shed some more weight.
Since my stomach got better I’ve lost weight slowly and that’s ok, but I want to see if eating more food helps me shed weight easier.

In the first week back at work, I ate roughly 2100 kcals a day, a good balance between protein, fat and carbs, and I lost the other 2 kilos I gained during my vacation. I walked home from work 3 out of 5 days as well. Only 3.8 kilometres, but at least it’s something. I did intervalls one day and have been at the gym lifting weights during the weekend.

Tomorrow is week 2 in this experiement. I look forward to seeing where this is taking me!

Wishing you all a lovely weekend!

Kommentera

